Congratulations and Welcome!

First and foremost, to all our newly accepted students…

Welcome and Congratulations!


We couldn’t be more delighted to invite you to join the Stoneleigh-Burnham community. You are all talented, dynamic and insightful young women and we know that you will excel at SBS and make the most of the educational opportunities Stoneleigh-Burnham has to offer.

With that said, I want to share with you a few of the things I enjoy about working in Admissions.

  • I love talking with prospective families and telling them about my own experiences at Stoneleigh-Burnham.
  • I enjoy traveling and sharing all that SBS has to offer with consultants, placement counselors and students.
  • I find it interesting to read applications and interview prospective students to determine if they will excel here at SBS.
  • I enjoy the hustle and bustle of a successful Open House…and the quiet that follows it!

However, without hesitation, I have to say that my favorite part of working in Admissions has got to be the acceptance phone calls.

I remember my own call, delivered on March 9, 1999 early in the evening. I was called by the then, Associate Director of Admissions who told me that she wanted to be the first to congratulate me. I know I shrieked. Then, rather unceremoniously, I told her that I needed to get off the phone so I could go tell my Mom. I still remember running down the stairs, yelling to my Mom the entire time. As the other acceptance letters arrived in the next few days (I had applied to several schools) I don’t think any of them made me as excited as the phone call from Stoneleigh-Burnham had.

Now, on the eve of March 10, I gather with the other members of the Admissions Office to make our phone calls to the newest members of the Stoneleigh-Burnham community. Each year we all have a favorite call. It usually involves yelling and a fair amount of jumping up and down (which I assure you can be heard through the phone). This year though, my favorite call was a bit more subdued but no less enthusiastic.

It happened early on the morning of March 10, the young woman in question had been out the previous night when I had called with the news. I caught her just before she left for school and I told her how excited I was to accept her to Stoneleigh-Burnham and that the official letter would be coming in the mail. Her reaction was priceless…there was a sharp intake of breath followed by a quiet and drawn out “yessssss”.

A few minutes later, her father sent me a quick email to let me know that I had made her day and that as she headed off to school she was crying tears of joy.

This is the moment that I wait for each year. The moment when I get to make the phone call and share with our newly accepted students the first of many Stoneleigh-Burnham traditions. I look forward to it…and I know, just as it was for me, that for some this will be the acceptance they will later consider the most important and exciting.

So, now that the phone calls have been made and the acceptance letters mailed, on behalf of the Admissions Office and the entire Stoneleigh-Burnham community…Congratulations and welcome, we hope you will be joining us in the Fall!

The Admissions Office invites accepted students to join us on Tuesday, March 30, 2010 for Accepted Students Day. You can register by contacting the Admissions Office at 413-774-2711 ext. 257 or admissions@sbschool.org

2 Comments

Filed under Admissions

2 responses to “Congratulations and Welcome!

  1. Laura:

    I so well remember both the stars and the call from last year! We jumped up and down and opened champagne and were all so happy that Franny would be part of the school! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

