On the Importance of Having Fun

I know that Stoneleigh-Burnham School is an academic institution and the girls are here first and foremost to learn. However, I (and perhaps this has to do with my relatively young age and still vivid memories of my own time at Stoneleigh-Burnham) think that having fun, and taking time to enjoy the people around you will teach you lessons that are nearly as important as the ones you will learn in the classroom.

I am a firm believer in the importance of having fun.

I’m lucky enough to work with our middle school girls which means that we find excuses to have fun all the time. Sometimes it’s organized, like our second annual Midnight Madness this past Saturday, and sometimes, the middle school girls find ways to surprise even me.

Take Monday night for example. I, along with most of our middle school students were in the Meeting Room for evening study hall (the rest of the middle school girls were in the computer lab down the hall). They were a bit rowdy, which is normal for them, but at one point they reached a new level of distraction and I told them they needed to quiet down and focus. My tone must have been sharper than usual because the whole room got very quiet and the girls all looked over at me to see how serious I was. Suddenly, with a deadpan expression, one of our 8th grade students yelled out:

“Who let the dogs out?”

And the entire room began to bark.

I laughed so hard that I cried…and I was struck by two things, first that the Baha Men apparently have international acclaim (students from China, Mexico and Ghana knew what the appropriate response was) and by the fact that the girls had once again reminded me of something I already so firmly believe in, that it’s always important to be having a little fun.

-Laura Lavallee ’04, Associate Director of Admissions

1 Comment

Filed under Admissions, School Happenings, Stoneleigh-Burnham Middle School, Uniquely Stoneleigh-Burnham School

One response to “On the Importance of Having Fun

  1. Anonymous

    Yes! What a great reason to keep teaching…because students can be such fun. Neat post.

Leave a Reply

