That All Students Might Like School

Bill Ivey’s review of Why Don’t Students Like School? by Dan Willingham was recently published on MiddleWeb. Here is the beginning of the review, and a link to the full article for those who are interested.

I’ll happily admit to being a lucky teacher. I think more of my students than not honestly do like school, and I’ve had any number of conversations with kids who look forward more to the ends than to the beginnings of vacations. That said, I want all my students to like school as much as possible, learn as much as possible, and (perhaps most importantly) think as deeply as possible.

I’ve also learned to respect Dan Willingham’s work by following him on Twitter. So it’s no surprise that, for all intents and purposes, I read Willingham’s 2009 book Why Don’t Students Like School? (subtitled A Cognitive Scientist Answers Questions About How the Mind Works and What It Means for the Classroom) straight through in one go.

(click here to continue reading)

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Classroom, On Education

Leave a Reply

