Not One Dollar: Guest Post From Charlotte M. ’16

Charlotte M. ’16 recently guest blogged at Twitter Youth Feminist Army‘s Blog, JellyPop. She wrote about the Women’s Film Series here at SBS organized by Mary P. ’13 and her experience watching “Iron Jawed Angels.” In honor of International Women’s Day on March 8th, we’d like to share it with you, and we hope you’ll want to find out more!

“My name is Charlotte and I am a freshman at S-B School. Part of my school’s goal is to help students find their voices, and I have wanted to find my voice since I was nine years old. I have wanted to find my voice since an exhibit taught me to fear death, misunderstanding, and misrepresentation. I have wanted to find my voice since I realized that I could use it to change my life. But I never thought of using it to change someone else’s, and I never realized that what I thought was a personal struggle was something women faced all around the world: not being heard. I knew that women were oppressed, but it seemed like a distant problem that I had no connection to. This year, a single film changed that for me, something I never thought a movie could do…”

Read the rest of Charlotte’s blog post here.

1 Comment

Filed under Gender, On Education, Uniquely Stoneleigh-Burnham School, Women in media

One response to “Not One Dollar: Guest Post From Charlotte M. ’16

  1. Tracey Muise

    Charlotte, I think you have found your voice and it is a powerful, thoughtful, compassionate one. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

